First Fall Harvest

Hello everyone,

It’s been quite some time since I last blogged.  Even though I hadn’ t been blogging, a lot has happened at the newbie backyard farm.  At the end of August we planted our first fall crop.  We planted eggplant, carrots, cabbage, broccoli, swiss chard, red winter kale, beets, onions, cool weather lettuces.  I’m thrilled to say we enjoyed an abundant harvest of eggplant, however we got very little in the way of swiss chard, beets or lettuces, and we received nothing from anything else that was planted.  It got extremely hot at the end of August when the So. NV. planting schedule said to begin planting, and then we had pretty hot temps into September.  We enjoyed a great October, part of November, then it not only got cold this early December, but we have experienced FREEZING TEMPS.   So in my humble planting opinion, what the heat didn’t stave off, the freeze killed.  I had large broccoli leaves with no crowns…guess there is no royal blood line there!  Hope, Hope, Hope, we must have hope that other garden heirs will rise up! There must still remain some amazing little dormant seeds that will spring forth with life when our brief Spring arrives…In the meantime, our family will enjoy 100 and 1 ways to make eggplant!

Eggplant Parmesan

About The Dirt Diva

I live in the Mojave Desert and am about to embark on a journey to become a backyard farmer. I'm a foodie who loves the farmers market, I get all excited just going.. I will learn by education, the wisdom & guidance of those who have gone before me, research, trial & error and lots of prayer. But most of all maybe for the first time in my life I'm seeking to make a dream a reality out of my love and passion for all things natural! xoxox

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment